Afrohead Premium Aged Dark Rum: A Review

Afrohead

For blogging purposes, I received a free bottle of Afrohead Premium Aged Dark Rum. In 1997, Australian Toby Tyler moved to the Bahamas. In 2007, he began serving his house rum at his restaurant on Harbor Island (also known as Briland). The rum bottle’s label contained the image of a Bahamian woman. Soon, locals and people from around the world visited Briland for the rum with the “afrohead” on it. This inspired the name Afrohead Premium Aged Dark Rum.

I mixed Afrohead with Coke. As for the taste? Let’s just say I’m going to fix me another Cuba Libre (rum and coke) after writing this blog. On the real tip, Afrohead contains a strong taste. Stronger than other rums I had drunk in the past. Plus the taste touches nowhere near the awful rum nightclubs sneak on you.

Lil Indies in Orlando serves Afrohead in the “Snaxappeal” cocktail. Snaxappeal features Afrohead, lemon, Vitaluna, coconut milk and Demerara. Also, Orlando’s Nova Restaurant serves Afrohead.

On their website. Afrohead lists other cocktails.

Personally, I think Afrohead deserves shelf space at a Central Florida liquor store. When I posted my pic on Instagram, someone asked where can they get a bottle. I suggest selling Afrohead at Wally’s on Mills Avenue. Many Central Floridians hold Wally’s as a local treasure.

However one gets a hold of it, Afrohead definitely satisfies rum lovers. Time go make my Cuba Libre.

Leave a Reply

