Can This Booty Pic Be Considered Art? (Read the blog first.)

Big Booty Redhead

I photographed the above pic back in 2001. The purpose of the photo? Social commentary on the unseen Orlando nightlife. I wanted to show Orlando’s hidden beauty, revolutionary art in a conservative, family town conquered by theme parks.

Dear readers, I just bullshitted you. (Of course, many of you already knew this.) Social commentary, my ass. I wasn’t trying to revolutionize shit.

Still, I did use some artistic techniques. As I photographed the dancer, I positioned the camera vertically, a position I thought complimented the model. Most people hold the camera horizontally. Second, I used an external flash for extra power. Actually, it was something called a slave flash. I used it because I couldn’t attach an external flash to my compact camera. When the small on-camera flash fired, the external flash fired also. Third, to gain more exposure, I set the camera speed to 400 ISO. Last, I turned on the slow shutter speed mode.

Yet, I wasn’t thinking about art. I was just trying to get a decent booty pic.

In fact, I have no ambitions to post this booty pic in an art gallery. I am not even expecting people to label the pic art.

Yet, I am always amazed by what people consider art masterpieces. For instance, I never liked Jackson Pollock’s art. I don’t get it. All I see are paint drips splattered everywhere.

convergence-1952

Yet, Jackson Pollock is considered a master artist.

In 1949, LIFE magazine ran an article about Jackson Pollock with this headline: “Is he the greatest living painter in the United States?”

The greatest living painter in the United States may have been some dude splattering paint on a canvas. (Not for nothing, is this a white people thing? I don’t see many people of color praising Jackson Pollock.)

If Pollack’s work is considered art, my booty pics definitely deserve art gallery display. Yet, I really have no ambitions for that.

Then, there’s Piss Christ. A dude places a plastic crucifix in a jar of urine. Then, he photographs it. In one way, I find the photo brave; a person owned a pair of balls and photographed Christ in piss. Seeing what Jesus Christ means to many people, I see the high shock value.

Piss_Christ_by_Serrano_Andres_(1987)

Still, I often wonder if the artist Andres Serrano only did this for the shock value and nothing else, something I have no problem with. Yet, I also wonder if people over-intellectualize the obvious.

Check this out from The Fine Art Diner Blog: “It is absolutely possible that Mr. Serrano intended only to create a sensational piece to infuriate Christians, but as Christians, does the piece contain a message which we should be in tune with, and, instead of being controversial, Piss Christ becomes instructional?”

Here’s another one: “Ultimately, Piss Christ is a triumph of Love for Christians,..”

I don’t see a lesson or triumph. I see Christ in piss. I see the huge possibility of Mr. Serrano creating something just to piss off Christians.

After my death, I hope no one ever over-intellectualize my booty pics.  They’re just pics of booty, nothing else.

Truth be known, my booty pics does not even rank high on the shock value as Piss Christ. My booty pics only infuriates women with no booty.

Yet, I did find a booty pic that ranks close to Piss Christ. Someone in a Facebook group posted a pic of a big booty nun wearing a thong.

So, is this booty pic art? What are your views?

big booty black nun wearing a thong

Leave a Reply

