The Return of F.I.L.T.H. at Winter Park’s The Haven Lounge

Last Saturday night, I attended The Return of F.I.L.T.H., an event headlining nu-metal band F.I.L.T.H.
The Return of F.I.L.T.H.

The event rocked The Haven Lounge, a venue located in Winter Park, Florida.

As I mention “rock” and “metal”, something surprised me. As I walked in, I heard Juvenile’s “Back Dat Azz Up”. Expecting a metal night, a person would almost wonder if they showed up at the right spot. The dark clothing and rock shirts told me I was.

Robert Millward, a lifelong friend I hadn’t seen since 2001, treated me to Bud Lights all night. Also, Rob was the event’s photographer.

First up, April Rose from Auditory ARMory performed an acoustic guitar set. This wasn’t no hippie, coffee house set, either. If I heard them right, flowers and sunsets definitely did not exist in April’s lyrics. Not like that’s a bad thing. I actually enjoyed her set, a set that gained some of the patron’s attention.

Next, Black and Blue performed. Rob told me not call them progressive. Yet, instrumental progressive is the genre name on the group’s Facebook page. First, they started with a mellow metal instrumental. Then, the next songs they rocked harder. One song was a mixture of rock and funk.

Mostly throughout the set, folks moved their heads up and down in traditional, head banging-style. Some even flashed the heavy metal, hand sign.

As Black and Blue performed, I kept thinking the words “professional musicians”. That’s how well they handled themselves.

Next, Funeral for a Clown performed. These dudes from Miami knew how to jam! For those who enjoy German band Rammstein and industrial band Ministry, this is your group! First, as techno sounds mixed with the musicians’ hard metal sounds, the lead singer entered the stage wearing a devil mask and shades. He wore this for the first power-driven song. He took the mask off before the second song. By this time, audience members were hyped. As songs continued, folks moshed like a motherfucker. This was some intense shit, so intense I had to move because folks kept falling on me.

Then, for one song, the band mellowed.

For the last song, members of the evening’s other bands were invited onstage. This happened during the playing of a song recorded with B Real of rap group Cypress Hill. When that song played, everyone onstage jumped around.

Next up, the legendary Gargamel performed. Lead singer Mandaddy is the ultimate showman. He would actually party with audience members.

Gargamel’s music mixes rock, funk and reggae. A song may start smooth roots reggae and ends hard rock. Or vice versa. During their energetic set, audience members headbanged to the group.

Also, after previous incidents involving folks asking where has the group been, Mandaddy let it known that night they have been playing for TWENTY-TWO YEARS!

The last song borrowed from infamous nasty man Blowfly, taking popular songs and replacing original lyrics with dirty lyrics. Instead of LMFAO’s “everyday I’m shuffling”, the song went “everyday I’m butt fucking”.

Last up, F.I.L.T.H. performed. After a black curtain dropped, the lead singer was in an electric chair. Two women were onstage with him. Then, in a paint mask, he started singing. By this time, the energy from the room was gone. Blame it on folks probably tired from the previous energetic acts. Yet, after about three sings, the energy picked up. What was different? The lead singer finally took off the mask.

F.I.L.T.H. performed good nu-metal music. Audience members really enjoyed them. If I had the money, I probably would have purchased a CD. Yet, I think less theatrics would really do the band some good. Nothing wrong with theatrics, just do less of it.

That’s just my humble opinion. Yet, the audience rode with the band thick and thin. They enjoyed the song “Affluenza”. They enjoyed one side of the audience moshing against the other.

I still say support F.I.L.T.H. Yet, like I mentioned earlier, less theatrics would do the band some good.

Overall, I enjoyed the evening. Whenever they visit your area, I recommend seeing all groups mentioned.

3 thoughts on “The Return of F.I.L.T.H. at Winter Park’s The Haven Lounge

  1. THANSK A LOT BROTHER!!!!!!!!! WE WILL SEE YOU SOON!!!!!

  2. THANKS A LOT BROTHER!!!!!!!!! WE WILL SEE YOU SOON!!!!!

Leave a Reply

