Tighty Whities 2, The Women: Words from Orlando Photographer Miriam Lorenzi

Women wearing men's underwear.

I first met Miriam Lorenzi through drinking buddies back in 1994. Over the years, I had no idea I was amongst photographic genius. Like many geniuses, Miriam is low-key about her talent.

I think it was 2001. There at a Will’s Pub concert, I witnessed Miss Lorenzi in action.

“She’s a photographer?” I asked myself.

Over the years, Miriam never mentioned her photography to me.

She wasn’t just a photographer with fancy equipment, either. I noticed a look on Miriam’s face I never saw before, a look of intense seriousness. I always remembered a young lady with a smile. At this moment, a person deep into her craft was at work.

Over the years, I’ve seen Miriam’s awesome photos with the Orlando Sentinel and on Facebook.

Currently, she has a two weeks only show at Orlando’s The Peacock Room.

For this humble blog, she granted us her words.

1. What is your show at The Peacock Room?

Tighty Whities 2, The Women. It is the second show for my visual study of people going about daily activities at work, home, or on location while wearing men’s white briefs. In this study, women were the feature.

2. You had a previous show at the now-close SIP. What was the previous Tighty Whities?

Tighy Whities was the first show – an expose of men going about daily activities at home while wearing their undies.

3. What has been the public reception for both shows?

Both shows received a lot of attention and more praise than hate. People seem to enjoy the voyeuristic perspective of the work as well as seeing the subjects (men and women that many people in Orlando already know and love) depicted in such a dramatically different way than what they’re used to seeing.

4. What inspired you?

The Short Answer:
Heat, sweat, dirt, blood and overall misery sparked with the desire to deliver happiness inspired Tighty Whities, The Coffee Table Book.

The Detailed Answer:
A sweaty afternoon May of 2012, I’d been working all day in an non-air conditioned warehouse assembling a structure of steal extrusion for a trade show exhibit. My clothes were covered in dirt and metal shavings, and hung from my body like heavy wet blankets. The heat and humidity were high. And at the apex of my misery, it occurred to me: This experience could be so much better if we wore much less clothing.

So, I turn to my equally miserable co-worker and asked with a spark of hope , “Wouldn’t it be GREAT if we could just work in our underwear?”

With that last word spoken, images of people going about everyday activities wearing nothing but underwear flooded my mind. And I thought, how fun would it be to have a coffee table book of such imagery? I decided then that I wanted to present work that would be fun, light-hearted, and perhaps unusual with the ultimate goal of lifting the spirits.

5. You have Tighty Whities merchandise, right?

Tighty Whities The Coffee Table Book, Volume 1 consists of selections from the first and second shows. A book was my main goal for first show but I didn’t pull it together until this second show. SO many people said they would love to have the coffee table book. So, I made sure that it happened this time around. Volume 1 suggests that, yes, the work will continue and there will be more books. This one is still available for order in soft cover for $25.

I also offer great mini-prints that are handmade in the USA by yours truly! Beautiful quality images are mounted to foam core with magnets so you can put them on the refrigerator or your forehead, wherever metal exists. These also went over very well and were snagged up at the gallery show. A few still remain for $12 each or 2 for $20.

6. What is your photo history?
Again- heat, sweat, tears, and overall misery catapulted my interest in photography. I’ll spare you the details that include some low prairies in Colorado, arroyos, and huge birds of prey circling over my head.

I was very lucky at early outset of my photo career to score a paid job assisting a superb commercial photographer, Joe Brooks, here in Orlando. Through him, I gleaned mad insight to the technical side of photography for a few years. The rest of my history has been a slow journey of accepting a wide variety of work opportunities for private, corporate and publisher clients and developed the necessary skills as I went along. I’ve shot concerts (national and international acts), graduations, trade shows, exhibits, fine art, commercial interiors and exteriors, food, portraits, nudes, celebrities, births, babies, God and the Devil.

7. Any future projects?

Affirmative.

Leave a Reply

